The metal
  • 1 Powerwolf wallpaper
  • 2 Powerwolf wallpaper
  • 3 Powerwolf wallpaper
  • 4 Powerwolf wallpaper

Dutch   Tour dates   Videos   Live Videos   All Music  Photos 

Powerwolf is a German power metal band created in 2003 by Charles and Matthew Greywolf. (David Vogt and Benjamin Buss) The group is notable for having dark themes and images, both musically and lyrically, both counteractions to traditional power metal music and including usage of corpse paint, gothic-tinged compositions and songs about Romanian werewolf and vampire legends and dark religious tales.

When the band was founded, the members decided to take on pseudonyms and build up backstories around those. Officially, the brothers Charles and Matthew Greywolf had been playing together for years, when they decided to create a band, and so Powerwolf was started. Soon the brothers added  French drummer Stéfane Funèbre and German keyboardist Falk Maria Schlegel to the band, but could not find a suitable singer to complete the line-up. 

Later drummer Stefane Funèbre was replaced by Dutch drummer Roel van Helden

In the meantime, the band started writing, and on holidays in Romania, Charles and Matthew met Attila Dorn. Dorn, who studied classical opera at the Music Academy of Bucharest, moved to the band's hometown Saarbrücken, and became the frontman of Powerwolf. With Dorn's love of Romanian werewolf  legends, the band created their debut album, Return in Bloodred, which used these same legends as the basis for many of the lyrics. In 2007, they followed up with their second album, Lupus Dei, a concept album starring a wolf as the main character and his fall from bloodlust to enlightenment.

Powerwolf's third album Bible of the Beast was released on April 25, 2009.

In 2010, Powerwolf organist Falk Maria Schlegel stated about the group's new material: "We spent the last three months in the rehearsal room working out stuff for the new album. Even though it's still in the making, we can already promise the songs are 100% POWERWOLF, taking off where Bible of the Beast ended. There's furious stuff, there's epic stuff — and all of it is catchy as hell."

Their fourth album, titled Blood of the Saints, was released on July 29, 2011 in Europe and August 2 in the United States.

In 2012, Powerwolf released two albums. The first was the Wolfsnaechte Tour EP, a split EP with Mystic ProphecyStormwarrior, and Lonewolf.               This EP featured a previously unreleased Powerwolf track, "Living on a Nightmare". Copies of this EP were originally distributed along with the purchase of tickets to Powerwolf's Wolfsnaechte Tour but since the tour's conclusion, copies have been available in the Powerwolf webstore.

The second of Powerwolf's 2012 releases was Alive in the Night, the band's first live album. It contained 10 tracks and was just over 45 minutes in length. It was released with the April 2012 issue of the German edition of Metal Hammer.

Powerwolf released Preachers of the Night on 18 July 2013.

In 2014, Powerwolf released The History of Heresy I and The History of Heresy II, the second of which included several orchestral versions of Powerwolf songs. On July 17, 2015, the band released Blessed & Possessed.

On 10 October 2017, Powerwolf announced on Facebook that they had completed writing for their seventh full-length album, promising its release to occur sometime in 2018. In January 2018, the band entered the studio to begin recording the album, due later in the year. The title of the album was later announced as The Sacrament of Sin, which was released on 20 July 2018.  

When asked if he was a Christian or a Satanist, Greywolf answered: "I am a metalist, a metal fan. Metal is my religion. Look at all these people, what unites them? I can tell you, it's the fucking metal."

Official Website

All Languages


Return in Bloodred (2005)

Lupus Dei (2007)

Bible of the Beast (2009)

Blood of the Saints (2011)

Trinity in Black (2011) Box set

Wolfsnächte 2012 - Tour EP (2012)

Alive in the Night (2012)

The Rockhard Sacrament (2013) EP

Preachers of the Night (2013)

The History of Heresy I (2014) Box set

The History of Heresy II (2014) Box set

Blessed & Possessed (2015)

Wolfsnächte 2015 - Tour EP (2015)

The Metal Mass Live (2016)

Preaching at the Breeze (2017)  

The Sacrament of Sin (2018)

Metallum Nostrum (2019)


Attila Dorn (Karsten Brill) – Vocals               (2003-Present)

Matthew Greywolf (Benjamin Buss) –               Lead and rhythm guitar (2003-Present)

Charles Greywolf (David Vogt) – Rhythm guitar,      studio bass guitar (2003-Present)

Falk Maria Schlegel – Keyboards (2003-Present)

Roel van Helden – Drums (2011-Present)


Former members

Stéfane Funèbre (Stefan Gemballa) – drums (2003–2010)

Tom Diener – drums (2010–2011)


Live musicians

Markus Pohl – guitars (2016–present)

Fabian Schwarz – guitars (2012)