The metal

  • 1 Shaman wallpaper
  • 2 Shaman wallpaper
  • 3 Shaman wallpaper
  • 4 Shaman wallpaper



Live Videos

All Music

Tour Dates



Tour History

Shaman is a Brazilian progressive/power metal band assembled in 2000 by three musicians who left the band Angra – Andre Matos, Luis Mariutti and Ricardo Confessori. The band was completed with guitar player Hugo Mariutti (Luis' younger brother – both of them also play in another band called Henceforth).

Shaman changed its name to Shaaman due to legal reasons, but the issue was solved and they renamed it back to Shaman.

In October 2006, Andre Matos officially left the band along with the Mariutti brothers.

Confessori reformed the band with a new line-up featuring Thiago Bianchi on vocals, Léo Mancini on guitars, Fernando Quesada on bass and Junior Carelli on keyboards. They recorded two albums as Shaman and did the touring cycles before Confessori decided to leave the recordings of a third album in which the rest of the band decided to move on with Hangar and former Angra drummer Aquiles Priester and use the name Noturnall instead of Shaman.

On June 29, 2018 Shaman announced a reunion of their original lineup to tour in celebration of their 17th Anniversary, which was interrupted with the unexpected death of vocalist, Andre Matos, on the 8th of June 2019, from a heart attack at the age of 47.

The band was formed in mid-2000, when musicians Andre Matos (Vocals, keyboards, ex-Viper), Luis Mariutti (Bass, ex-Firebox) and Ricardo Confessori  (Drums, ex-Korzus) left the band Angra. At the time the band was assembled, they did not have a guitarist, so Hugo Mariutti (ex-Henceforth) was initially hired to assist in the compositions. Later they permanently integrated him into the band.

The name chosen for the band, Shaman, refers to the religious practice of shamanism, with the word "shaman" generally thought to be of Siberian origin.

They started an initial tour, which went through Europe and Latin America (specifically: France, Mexico, Argentina, Chile and Brazil). For live keyboards the band requested the help of musician Fábio Ribeiro (Blezqi Zatsaz, ex-Angra).

Mixing heavy metalclassical music and world music, The band started recording their debut album, entitled Ritual, in January 2002. The disc was entirely recorded in Germany, with the exception of a few tracks which were recorded in Brazil and the US. The production was managed by the producer Sascha Paeth, who also produced albums for Angra, EdguyRhapsody of Fire and Virgo and with co-production of Phil Colodetti.

Ritual was released in more than 15 countries. The World Ritual Tour lasted for one year and a half, touring in such places as: Brazil, Asia, Latin America and Europe. There were over 150 shows at that time, some presented twice in the same place.

During 2003, Shaman were among the first place slots for Brazil, with Ritual being awarded the best album of 2002 and 2004 by the readers of Folha de S. Paulo, a Brazilian newspaper. Later in 2004, the band opened for Iron Maiden's show in São Paulo, playing to an audience of over 45,000.

The band then recorded a live show in the Credicard Hall with the participation of several special guests such as Tobias Sammet, (Avantasia) Marcus Viana,  Andi Deris, (HelloweenSascha Paeth, (Avantasia) George Mouzayek and Michael Weikath. The show was then released on CD and DVD, entitled RituAlive. The engineering and mixing was done entirely at The Creative Studios in São Paulo, Brazil and the production was done by Phil Colodetti together with the Shaman members. According to director of Universal Music of Brazil, RituAlive is still the best DVD of its genre due to its quality and contents.

In 2005, with the second album almost completed and ready to release, they decided to rename the album to avoid a court hearing by another band. The band also decided to add an 'A' to its name as Shaaman. The name change occurred after another band named Shaman was consulted and specified that the meaning and pronunciation of the name were still the same.

In the following months, the new album, entitled Reason, was released. The result of Reason, which was mixed in Germany by the producer Sascha Paeth and recorded in Brazil by Phil Colodetti at Creative Studios, attempted to return the feeling and spirit of 80's heavy metal. Their first single, named "Innocence" from the Reason was played on radio stations and further split the official charts of the highest charting songs in Brazil. The video for the song also appeared on music TV channels.

Shaman then went on a hiatus which was confirmed on October 12, 2006, when a statement by bass player Luís Mariutti was released on the fansite "For Tomorrow" that "the band had called it a day."

Ricardo Confessori, the only remaining member of Shaman, decided to continue the band with a new line-up. Later, in 2007, the album Immortal, was released.

In 2013, all members but Confessori formed a new band called Noturnall. On a 2014 interview, guitarist Fernando Quesada confirmed none of the members would return to Shaman.

On June 29, 2018 Shaman announced a reunion of their original lineup to tour in celebration of their 17th Anniversary with two shows in Sao Paulo. After some weeks, a tour were announced for Brasília, Belo Horizonte, Rio de Janeiro, Manaus, Fortaleza and Recife. They have toured until June 2, 2019, with Avantasia.

The tour was interrupted with the unexpected death of vocalist Andre Matos.

Months later, the arrival of vocalist Alírio Netto (Queen Extravaganza, ex-Age of Artemis) was announced in Shaman, in order to complement the band and start the new phase of Shaman.

Official Website   The Shaman  

Former Angra singer Andre matos dies 

All Languages


Shaman (Demo) (2001)

Ritual (2002)

RituAlive (2003)

Reason (2005)

Immortal (2007)

Origins (2010)

Complete Discography   


Ricardo Confessori - drums (2000–present)

Luis Mariutti - bass (2000-2006, 2018-present)

Hugo Mariutti - guitar (2000-2006, 2018-present)

Alirio Netto - vocals (2019- present)

Former members

Andre Matos - vocals (2000-2006, 2018-2019; died 2019)

Thiago Bianchi - vocals (2007–2013)

Léo Mancini - guitars (2007–2013)

Fernando Quesada - bass (2007–2013)

Junior Carelli - keyboards (2012–2013)


Touring member

Fábio Ribeiro - keyboards (2000-2006,           2018-present)

1 2 3 4 5